Inter-Regional Championships

The Inter-Regional Championships is a national competition contested by teams representing New Zealand Canoe Polo’s five regional associations. The regional bodies are geographically divided in to the following regions:

Northern (Taupo – top of the North Island)

Central (North Island below Taupo)

Eastern (Hawkes Bay region and Gisborne and Taupo)

Mainland (Timaru – top of the South Island)

Deep South (South Island below Timaru)


The best of the best from each region compete for medals in U18, U21, senior, and veterans categories with an overall trophy awarded to the most successful region. This event is held over two or three days with the competition venue rotated between regions. From 2013 this competition has been run every second year.

All dates will be listed on the Events pages once known.

Schedule of Host Region
2019 – Northern
2021 – Eastern
2023 – Mainland
2025 – Central
2027 – Southern

2021 Inter-Regionals

2021 Inter Regionals – Format Regulations

Previous Inter-regional Championships

2019 Inter-regional Results

2019 Inter-regional Championship Format and Guidelines

2019 Inter-regionals Draw

2017 Inter-Regional Results

2015 Inter-Regional Results

2014 is a gap year for Inter Regional’s which allows regions to focus on development.

2013 Championships

2012 Championships

2011 Championships

2010 Championships

2009 Championships

2008 Championships