Media Release – New Zealand Canoe Polo World Championship teams announced

The squad to represent New Zealand at the Canoe Polo World Championships in Sicily, Italy in September has been selected.

The final selections of the Paddle Blacks (senior men), Paddle Ferns (senior women), u21 Paddle Blacks and u21 Paddle Ferns was officially announced at the New Zealand canoe polo premier event finals of the national league over the weekend of 7- 8 May.

The initial provisional squad has been trimmed down, dynamics trialled and fitness assessed ahead of the canoe polo World Championships, the teams are now into the final preparation for their World Championship campaign.

New Zealand canoe polo has hopes of achieving high this year after an extremely successful 2014 campaign. James Mitchell captain of the Paddle Blacks stated ‘I am extremely honoured to be asked to lead this bunch of extremely talented athletes to take on the world’s best teams at the upcoming 2016 World Champs in Syracuse. Lots of hard work in the coming months still’. Mitchell competed in the 2014 Paddle Blacks who managed to increase their ranking 5 spots by placing 7th in France at the last World Championships.

Both the Paddle Ferns and u21 Paddle Ferns competed over the weekend in the National League B grade event in Otaki this weekend as part of their preparation. The Paddle Ferns captained by Jordan Housiaux has 5 returning players from the 2014 campaign who narrowly missed making the grand final by falling to the eventual winners Germany in a golden goal extra time. The team finished their campaign 4th and are hungry to see the podium this World Championships.

New Zealand canoe polo would like to congratulate the teams on their selections.

Paddle Blacks
Jason Dalziel
Carl Duncan
Luke Dustin
Jed Graham
Mitch Graham
Nevan Hadley
Matt Keong
Alex Lowen
James Mitchell (c)
Conor Sellwood
Coach: Steve Hunt
Mens Manager: Lisa Hunt

Paddle Ferns
Erin Bolton
Kate Bolton
Emma Hicks
Jordan Housiaux (c) Genera
Megan Lyons
Jordan Pearse
Paris Pidduck
Olivia Spencer-Bower
Coach: Peter Housiaux
Womens Manager: Jane Bertelsen

U21 Junior Paddle Blacks
Connor Taylor
Alex Nieuwenhuis
Ollie Maassen
Aaron Crabb
Ruifa Huang
Cole Hawkins
Ethan Flanders
Sam Hapeta (c)
Coach: Mike Taylor

U21 Junior Paddle Ferns
Stephanie Dryfhout (c)
Sian Fendall
Madison Gaiger-Grove
Alexia Hinton
Jordyn Pfeiler (vc)
Ella Richardson
Britney Rolston
Lucia Stettner
Coach: Luke Anderson

Teams are subject to final ratification from the NZCPA Board.