World Masters Games 2017

Masters Logo

Canoe Polo will be one of the official sports at the World Masters Gams 2017, which will be held in Auckland, New Zealand.

The minimum age from Masters canoe polo is 30+.

The Games:

The World Masters Games is the largest multi-sport event in the world. It terms of competitor numbers it is bigger even than the Olympics. Host rights are allocated every four years to a nominated city.

The Rights Holder:

The International Masters Games Association, a non profit organisation based in Switzerland, holds the rights to the summer and winter masters games.

The Shareholder of World Masters Games 2017:

Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development (ATEED) holds the host rights to the 2017 Games.

The Funders of World Masters Games 2017:

The Games will cost $34m to stage. $11m each has been invested by Auckland Council via Auckland Tourism, Events and Economic Development (ATEED) and the New Zealand Government via New Zealand Major Events. The remaining $12m will come from registration fees and commercial sponsorship. The Presenting Partner of World Masters Games 2017 is Barfoot & Thompson Limited

The Chief Executive:

Jennah Wootten

The Board:

Chairman, Sir John Wells

Director, Diana Puketapu

Director, Kevin Ross

Director, Martin Snedden

Director, Dianne McAteer

Director, Barry Maister

The Participants:

An estimated 25,000 athletes will compete from across 100+ countries. They will be supported by an additional 10,000 visiting companions and officials. In addition, some 5500 event volunteers will be needed.

The Sports:

16 core sports and 12 optional sports have been selected by Auckland as the host nation, They are – Athletics, Archery, Badminton, Baseball, Basketball, Canoe / Kayak, Cycling, Football, Golf, Hockey, Lawn Bowls, Netball, Orienteering, Rowing, Rugby, Sailing, Shooting, Softball, Squash, Surf Life Saving, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Touch Rugby, Triathlon, Volleyball, Water Polo, Weightlifting.


People of all abilities can compete including para-athletes (in 8 sports) as long as they meet the minimum age criteria for their chosen sport as set by the international sporting federation for that code. Qualifying ages can be as low as 25. Athletes are generally considered masters competitors by age 35.


The World Masters Games is guided by the ‘sport for all philosophy of the Olympics Charter which promotes lifelong competition, friendship and understanding between mature sportspeople irrespective of age, gender, race, religion and status.